

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 6, 2016

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Society Announces 2017 Society Fellows

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is delighted to announce its 2017 Society Fellows. This award honors the Society's distinguished members who have demonstrated excellence in science, contributed to the expansion of the field of biophysics, and supported the Biophysical Society. The Fellows will be honored at the Awards Ceremony during the Biophysical Society's 61st Annual Meeting on Monday February 13, 2017, at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Fellows are:

Jonathon "Joe" Howard, Yale University, for his seminal contributions to single molecule and cellular biophysical analysis of the cytoskeleton.

Lewis Kay, University of Toronto, for illuminating the dynamic properties of proteins important for folding, aggregation, and function.

Brian Kobilka, Stanford University, for his groundbreaking work leading to the understanding of the structure and function of G-protein–coupled receptors.

Michael Levitt, Stanford University, for his development of computer simulations that combine classical physics and quantum physics to unveil chemical processes.

Jane Richardson, Duke University, for having made tremendous contributions to advancing our collective knowledge of the beauty and complexity of protein structure.

Petra Schwille, Max-Planck Institute for Biochemistry, for the development of novel biophysical methodology and well controlled cell-free reconstitution assays to characterize fundamental biological processes and functions with ultimate precision.

Bonnie Wallace, Birkbeck College, University of London, for being a leader wherever she has worked and showing diversity at its best, in both science and life.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2016 Annual Meeting, visit www.biophysics.org.

OFFICERS

President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

President-Elect

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

Past-President

Edward Egelman
University of Virginia

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Paul Axelsen
University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Olga Boudker
Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Ruth Heidelberger
Kalina Hristova
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Joseph D. Puglisi
Michael Pusch
Erin Sheets
Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Paul Axelsen

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic

Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Erin Sheets

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich